LA TOUR D'ARUNDEL & LE CHÂTEAU SAINT-CLAIR LES SABLES-D'OLONNE
Built by the Princes of Talmont in the 15th cen- tury, the chateau was seized by the Protestant leader, Soubise, in 1622, whom ordered fortifi- cations to be built. First a garrison under Louis XIII, the château, which currently houses the Sea Museum, was bombed in 1796 by the Anglo-Dutch, seized by the government in 1835, and finally restored between 1986 and 1994. The tower forms part of the Cha- teau Saint-Clair’s defences. The first harbour light was intro- duced in 1593. In the 18th century, the La Chaume lighthouse was the only lighthouse in the Vendée. Its present appea- rance is the result of res- toration work undertaken between 1857 and 1858. When visiting the sea mu- seum, take the unique oppor- tunity to go to the top of the tower and enjoy stunning panoramic views. Viewpoint indi- cator from 1911.